FoxNews Spamming Continues

As if we needed more evidence of the sleeziness of FoxNews, here’s a pretty concrete example.
About a year ago, I posted about foxnews spamming. I’ve continued to receive these posts fairly regularly, but decided to look a little deeper.
Today I got this posting – this is in the format I receive in email when someone posts to any of my blogs:

IP Address:
Name: qwdqws
Email Address:
<A HREF=”,2933,251660,00.html”>Iraq to
Close Borders With Syria, Iran for 72 Hours in Security Crackdown</A>

Looks pretty similar. Hey, that IP address looks similar as well. I wonder….

dbs@yawl:~$ whois
OrgName: News Corporation
Address: 1211 Avenue of the Americas
Address: 7th Floor
City: New York
StateProv: NY
PostalCode: 10036
Country: US
NetRange: –
NetHandle: NET-206-15-96-0-1
Parent: NET-206-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Assignment
NameServer: NS1-142.AKAM.NET
NameServer: NS1-15.AKAM.NET
NameServer: NS1-163.AKAM.NET
NameServer: NS1-218.AKAM.NET
NameServer: USC2.AKAM.NET
NameServer: USE2.AKAM.NET
NameServer: USW3.AKAM.NET
NameServer: USW5.AKAM.NET
RegDate: 1997-01-24
Updated: 2006-01-19
OrgTechHandle: JJR10-ARIN
OrgTechName: Ripkey, Jason J
OrgTechPhone: +1-212-852-7000
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-02-12 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN’s WHOIS database.

Yes folks, not only is FoxNews blogspamming the world trying to get their google rankings up, but they’re doing it FROM THEIR OWN OFFICES. Remember these are the “Fair and Balanced” folks. Yet more evidence of the hypocrisy of that statement.
Fortunately, their whois record provides a direct phone number and a contact at Fox News.


A wandering geek. Toys, shiny things, pursuits and distractions.

View all posts by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *